Golden Fury Blog Tour

Title: Golden Fury

Author: Samantha Cohoe

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/ Wednesday Books

Release Date: October 13, 2020

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Synopsis: Thea Hope longs to be an alchemist out of the shadow of her famous mother. The two of them are close to creating the legendary Philosopher’s Stone—whose properties include immortality and can turn any metal into gold—but just when the promise of the Stone’s riches is in their grasp, Thea’s mother destroys the Stone in a sudden fit of violent madness.

While combing through her mother’s notes, Thea learns that there’s a curse on the Stone that causes anyone who tries to make it to lose their sanity. With the threat of the French Revolution looming, Thea is sent to Oxford for her safety, to live with the father who doesn’t know she exists.

But in Oxford, there are alchemists after the Stone who don’t believe Thea’s warning about the curse—instead, they’ll stop at nothing to steal Thea’s knowledge of how to create the Stone. But Thea can only run for so long, and soon she will have to choose: create the Stone and sacrifice her sanity, or let the people she loves die.
A GOLDEN FURY and the curse of the Philosopher’s Stone will haunt you long after the final page.

Wednesday Books: Twitter | Instagram | Purchase Golden Fury

Author Bio: Samantha Cohoe writes historically-inspired young adult fantasy. She was raised in San Luis Obispo, California, where she enjoyed an idyllic childhood of beach trips, omnivorous reading, and writing stories brimming with adverbs. She currently lives in Denver with her family and divides her time among teaching Latin, mothering, writing, reading, and deleting adverbs. A Golden Fury is her debut novel.

Author Links: Twitter | Instagram |

Thea wants to step away from her mother’s shadow and to be an alchemist. They are collaborating on creating the Philosopher’s Stone which can turn metal into gold and give immortality. In a sudden turn of events, Thea’s mom destroys the stone when she has a fit of madness. Thea is able to do some research on the stone only to realize that the stone has a curse which causes anyone that tries to make it to lose their sanity. Due to the French Revolution, Thea is sent to Oxford to live with her father, who doesn’t know she exists. While in Oxford, there are alchemists that Thea tries to warn about the curse, instead they want to take Thea’s knowledge to create the stone. Thea has to decide between creating the stone and losing her sanity or letting the people she loves die.

Golden Fury was one of those books that was a page turner for me. When I began to read, I couldn’t stop, I love having books like this, between the story telling details to the story, I was hooked. I really enjoyed having Thea being an alchemist and her desire to make a name for herself. I also enjoyed how interesting it was regarding the Philosopher’s Stone too. Overall, I loved learning about Thea through the book, she is brave and fight for what she believes in.

Thank you to Wednesdays Books for the opportunity to read this book, all opinions are my own.

You Know I’m No Good Blog Tour

TITLE: You Know I’m No Good

AUTHOR: Jessie Ann Foley

PUBLISHER: Quill Tree Books (HarperCollins)

RELEASE DATE: October 13th, 2020

GENRE(S): YA FICTION–Contemporary

TRIGGER WARNINGS: Sexual Assault, Suicidal Ideation, Drug and Alcohol Use, Self-Harm

SYNOPSIS:

From Printz Honor winner and William C. Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes the story of one girl’s battle to define herself as something other than her reputation.

Mia is officially a Troubled Teen—she gets bad grades, drinks too much, and has probably gone too far with too many guys. But she doesn’t realize how out of control her parents think she is until they send her away to Red Oak Academy, a therapeutic boarding school in rural Minnesota.

While there, Mia starts confronting her painful past, and questions the purpose of Red Oak. After all, if the Red Oak girls were boys, they never would have been treated the way that they are. Amidst the revelations that cause her to question the way that society treats young women, circumstances outside of her control force Mia to discover what happens when she makes herself vulnerable enough to be truly seen by the rest of the world.

AUTHOR INFO

Jessie Ann Foley’s debut novel, The Carnival at Bray, was a Printz Honor Book, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book, a YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults title, and a William C. Morris Award finalist. Her second novel, Neighborhood Girls, was an ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice and a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults title. Sorry for Your Loss, her third novel, was an Illinois Reads selection. You Know I’m No Good is her fourth novel. Jessie lives with her husband and three daughters in Chicago, where she was born and raised. To learn more about Jessie, visit her online at www.jessieannfoley.com.

GIVEAWAY INFO: Up for grabs is ONE copy of Jessie Ann Foley’s You Know I’m No Good. This giveaway is open to US residents only, and will run from October 9th – October 16th at 11:59PM CST. Enter to win via the rafflecopter link below.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d6/?

Mia is known as a “troubled teen,” the last straw is when she punches her stepmother. She has also done many things such as cutting class to smoke weed. Due to her behavior, she’s being sent to “Red Oak Academy: A Therapeutic Girls’ Boarding School for Troubled Teens.” Mia describes how “there is no orientation, the way you might have at a normal high school. That’s because there is no regular start date to the school year. Every girl arrives at a different time, at whatever point in the year her troubledness becomes too troubling for those around her to deal with anymore.”

Through this story, the author doesn’t shy away from tough topics such as sexual assault, OCD, self harm, etc. I like how even through her “trouble” Mia is honest about her experiences and she feels very real to me, I miss reading characters like her. I liked that we also got to know the rest of the troubled teens there with Mia, to see how they all have sad stories to tell. I like how Mia’s honesty more than anything especially towards the end when she says, “But I know that I look good. I look healthy. I look like I’ve been through some shit. I look like somebody with a future before me that is emptied of everything but possibility. I close my eyes. I brush my fingers down the silhouette of myself. Before I get into the scalding hot shower to luxuriate in its pounding water pressure and Alanna’s rose- scented shampoo, I wrap my arms around myself, just to see what it would feel like to hold the body that is me.” My favorite thing about this book is how the book kept my attention, I was engaged especially with how real and authentic this story is.

Kingdom of Sea and Stone Blog Tour

Kingdom of Sea and Stone (Crown of Coral and Pearl #2) by Mara Rutherford

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: October 6, 2020

Synopsis: Ever since Nor was forced to go to a nearby kingdom in her sister’s place, she’s wanted nothing more than to return to the place and people she loves. But when her wish comes true, she soon finds herself cast out from both worlds, with a war on the horizon.

As an old enemy resurfaces more powerful than ever, Nor will have to keep the kingdom from falling apart with the help of Prince Talin and Nor’s twin sister, Zadie. There are forces within the world more mysterious than any of them ever guessed—and they’ll need to stay alive long enough to conquer them…

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Indigo |

Author Bio:

About the Author:

Mara Rutherford began her writing career as a journalist but quickly discovered she far preferred fantasy to reality. Originally from California, Mara has since lived all over the world along with her Marine-turned-diplomat husband. A triplet born on Leap Day, Mara holds a Master’s degree in Cultural Studies from the University of London. When she’s not writing or chasing after her two sons, she can usually be found pushing the boundaries of her comfort zone, whether at a traditional Russian banya or an Incan archaeological site. She is the author of CROWN OF CORAL AND PEARL (2019), its sequel, KINGDOM OF SEA AND STONE (2020), and LUMINOUS (2021).

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads |

Blog Tour | Giveaway (US Only): Finished copy of Kingdom of Sea and Stone. This giveaway will end on October 13th.

Before starting this book, I recommend you read Crown of Coral and Pearl since the book starts where the first book left off.

I began with reading Crown of Coral and Pearl, I was so hooked with the story especially the world building. The detailing in the world building in both books is amazingly done. We begin the story by learning that the Princes of Ilara marries the most beautiful maidens from the village of Varenia. Nor has dreamed of being a part of the wealthy and the kingdom of Ilara however she had an accident that caused her to have a permanent scar which meant that her twin sister, Zadie would be chosen to marry the Prince – Nor however would remain in Varenia and marry anyone of the men in the village. Zadie is injured, Nor is sent to Ilara to take her place. Their family is poor therefore their mom has planned for the girls to be part of the ceremony, hoping one of them would get married to the prince therefore giving wealth to the family, in Varenia beauty means everything.

In Kingdom of Sea and Stone, Nor and Zadie reunite and they have to do what they can to save the kingdom. Just like in Crown of Coral and Pearl, there are so many twists and turns which keep pulling you in as a reader. Through the story, my favorite character has been Nor as we experience her growth through the story, she’s very determine to save her people. This particular quote stood out to me, “But that’s just it, Nor. Even when everything around you is falling apart, you manage to find those moments of joy.” I do believe this quote really tell us so much about Nor and her growth.

Another quote that I loved while reading was, “I can see that mind of yours racing. I’m sorry I said anything. Being with you right here, right now, is enough.” I found it interesting because it made me want to keep reading to see what would happen next, it intrigued me. I loved reading both of these books, I felt like I experienced a rollercoaster of emotions through my reading and I already want to read them both again, they were so good! I definitely rate Kingdom of Sea and Stone 5 stars because I loved the story from beginning to end, I hope you do too!

Click on the banner at the top to follow the rest of the tour, see you next time!

Historically Inaccurate Blog Tour

Title: Historically Inaccurate

Author: Shay Bravo

Publisher: Wattpad Books

Publication Date: September 29th, 2020

Genres: Young Adult Contemporary

Synopsis:

After her mother’s deportation last year, all Soledad “Sol” Gutierrez wants is for her life to go back to normal. Everything’s changed―new apartment, new school, new family dynamic―and Sol desperately wants to fit in. When she joins her community college’s history club, it comes with an odd initiation process: break into Westray’s oldest house and steal . . . a fork?

There’s just one problem: while the owners of the house aren’t home, their grandson Ethan is, and when he catches Sol with her hand in the kitchen drawer, she barely escapes with the fork intact. This one chance encounter irrevocably alters her life, and Sol soon learns that sometimes fitting in isn’t as important as being yourself―even if that’s the hardest thing she’s ever had to do.

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Kobo | Indigo | Google Play

Author Information:

Shay Bravo is a Mexican born author who has now lived half of her life in the USA. She began sharing her work online through Wattpad when she was fifteen years old and has connected with over 114,000 followers. Historically Inaccurate won the 2019 Watty Awards and is her first novel. Shay currently resides in Houston, Texas.


Historically Inaccurate gives us the story of Soledad Gutierrez, she’s attending college and her mom was suddenly deported. Through the story, we can see how it affects her life and relationships. I do want to highlight that I liked how the immigration part of the story was handled. I think it’s a topic that should be talked about more often due to its importance. We can see how it affects Soledad, how fearful she is and how she wants a future with her mom.

I do love Soledad’s character, she’s very realistic and anxious, I was able to relate to that part of her. I also loved how she’s portrayed it as she’s just like a normal college student would be too. Overall, the representation, character and the story were so well done, I appreciated this book a lot.

Owlcrate Unboxing – August 2020

Hi all! I decided that I wanted to bring something other than book reviews and blog tours. I will definitely wait until the next month to post these in order to not spoil the items until hopefully everyone has their box.

The first item is the star shaped bottle with push pins from Team Owlcrate
Strange the Dreamer inspired bandana by Fern and Ink
Metal star pen from Team Owlcrate and this Starless Sea inspired book sleeve from Quirky Cup Collective
Daphna Sebbane designed the Aurora Rising inspired clipboard which I love already
August’s book was Star Daughtee by Shveta Thakrar, i love the cover so much!
Band of Weirdos designed this month’s enamel pin

I really loved all the items in this box especially when I find them useful such as the pins, the pen and clipboard. I really like the changes to the cover and I’m looking forward to reading the book too!

Furia Blog Tour

Title: Furia

Author: Yamile Saied Mendez

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

Publication Date: September 15, 2020

Synopsis: Camila Hassan lives a double life. At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her
mother’s narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brother’s shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father. On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far her talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, she’d get an athletic scholarship to a North American university, but the path ahead won’t be easy. Her parents, who don’t know about her passion, wouldn’t allow a girl to play fútbol—and she needs their permission to go any farther. Meanwhile, the boy she once loved, Diego, is not only back in town, but has also become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Things aren’t the same as when he left: Camila has her own fútbol ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, she is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and passion of a girl like her.

Always a voracious reader, as a child Méndez taught herself English with a Spanish/English
dictionary, and at the age of nineteen she emigrated to the United States to pursue a degree at
Brigham Young University. “Although FURIA isn’t an autobiographical novel, a lot of the events in
the book are based on my own life and experiences,” she explains. “I always wanted to be a
professional fútbol player, which was impossible at the time. Instead, I became a student of the
sport. I’ve followed the developments in Argentine society and fútbol throughout my years of (self)
exile from my country, and a conversation about feminine fútbol is impossible without including the
fight of the feminist movement in Argentina throughout our history. FURIA is a love letter to my city,
and I hope that readers will fall in love with Rosario and fútbol.” A graduate of Voices of Our Nations
(VONA) and the Vermont College of Fine Arts MFA, Méndez is also a founding member of Las
Musas, a marketing collective of women and non-binary Latinx children’s authors. She has coached
and managed multiple youth soccer teams, and she lives in Utah with her Puerto Rican husband and
their five kids, two dogs, and one cat.

Filled with the authentic details and textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring
romance, and breathless action, FURIA is the riveting, radiant story of one girl’s struggle to rise
above the expectations her family and society have for her.

Book Links: Kindle | Amazon | B&N | Apple Books | Google Play | Book Depository | Indigo |

Author Information:

Yamile (sha-MEE-lay) Saied Méndez is a fútbol-obsessed Argentine
American who loves meteor showers, summer, astrology, and pizza. She
lives in Utah with her Puerto Rican husband and their five kids, two adorable
dogs, and one majestic cat. An inaugural Walter Dean Myers Grant
recipient, she’s a graduate of Voices of Our Nations (VONA) and the MFA
program in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Vermont College of
Fine Arts. Méndez is also part of Las Musas, the first collective of women
and nonbinary Latinx middle grade and young adult authors. Furia is her first
novel for young adult readers.

I want to thank Algonquin Publicity for reaching out to me with the opportunity to review Furia. I was intrigued by the synopsis because it involved women and sports. For those of you that don’t know, I am a pro wrestling fan. I began to watch wrestling along with my Dad and brother, I fell in love with it. I began to get so involved with it that I wanted to know when the company would be in town in order to attend the live show. I have met so many of my favorite wrestlers, it’s fun to attend the events, cheer and boo with other fans.

For some, it seems like women don’t belong in sports. When I began to watch, the women were not getting a decent amount of time on TV. As fans, we advocated for them with #GiveDivasAChance which caused a change in the women’s division. I loved seeing women getting more opportunities, seeing how happy they were to show how much they love the sport which made me realize it’s more than okay to enjoy and love wrestling.

When I read the synopsis for Furia, I realized that I want more stories involving women and sports. I admire Camila’s passion for the sport and the way she is focused on her future as a pro futbol player. While reading Camila’s story, you want to cheer for her and her journey to achieving what she has set her mind to. The way Camila doesn’t give up is inspiring as she works towards her ultimate dream.

I also want to wish Yamile a happy book birthday as Furia is out today, go get your copy!

Thank you to my friend @Aeronnixdesign for my new graphic!

Each of Us a Desert Blog Tour

Title: Each of Us a Desert 

Author: Mark Oshiro 

Publisher: Tor Teen 

Publication Date: September 15th, 2020

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, LGBTQ+ 

Synopsis:

From award-winning author Mark Oshiro comes a powerful coming-of-age fantasy novel about finding home and falling in love amidst the dangers of a desert where stories come to life.

Xochitl is destined to wander the desert alone, speaking her troubled village’s stories into its arid winds. Her only companions are the blessed stars above and enigmatic lines of poetry magically strewn across dusty dunes.

Her one desire: to share her heart with a kindred spirit.

One night, Xo’s wish is granted—in the form of Emilia, the cold and beautiful daughter of the town’s murderous conqueror. But when the two set out on a magical journey across the desert, they find their hearts could be a match… if only they can survive the nightmare-like terrors that arise when the sun goes down.

Book links:  Goodreads Amazon Book Depository Barnes & Noble IndieBound  Kobo Indigo 

Google Play Apple Books

Author Information

Mark Oshiro is the author of Anger is a Gift (Tor Teen), winner of the 2019 Schneider Family Book Award and nominated for a 2019 Lammy Award (in the LGBTQ Children’s/Young Adult category). Upcoming novels include Each of Us a Desert (Tor Teen), a YA Fantasy novel out September 15, 2020, and The Insiders (Harper Collins), an MG Contemporary with magical elements out Fall 2021. When they are not writing, crying on camera about fictional characters for their online Mark Does Stuff universe, or traveling, Mark is busy trying to fulfill their lifelong goal: to pet every dog in the world. 

Author Links: 

Website: https://www.markoshiro.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5183642.Mark_Oshiro

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/markdoesstuff/?hl=es-la

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarkDoesStuff 

In this story, we follow Xochitl, she’s a young cuentista (story teller) from Empalme. As a cuentista, she receives stories from people and giving them to Solis, god of the world. Xochitl begins a journey to find her identity which is different from what she has learned in her village. “This is the story I was told of how las cuentistas were born; You gave some of us the ability to devour the truth of others, and You warned us. We should all know if someone had harmed another, if they had kept their truth from You. The longer one of us went without a cuentista, the worse por pesadillas became. And so we were cast out into the world to ingest what others had done wrong, them return it to You, to the eternal desert.”

This book deals with a few themes but I wanted to highlight the theme of love first. In the book, we get to experience what you can do for love to be specific for the loss of a loved one. I also wanted to highlight that the story about identity and how we can think we can are lonely in different places even though we are surrounded by so many people. “Sometimes, after a particularly difficult ritual, I would lie on my back on the earth, and I would let las estrellas surround me. They would fill every bit of my field of vision, and I would imagine that there was nothing else in the world. Just the desert beneath me and las estrellas above. I was hidden from You, and I would allow the loneliness to settle deep in my body. It was part of me, one I had no means of alleviating, except for las poemas.

“I had been doing this more and more lately. I would tell my parents that I needed to take a story, to return one to the earth, and I would be gone for hours at a time. They claimed to understand me, but they understood only the need for the for the ritual. They didn’t get how much I needed to be away from home; away from all the responsibilities and the sad, needy faces; away from feeling stuck in a life I never chose. This quote really spoke to me as I feel that sometimes we follow in our family’s footsteps and then we realize that we need to break out from that, find our identities and find ourselves. This reminded me of my journey in the book community as I struggled to find my identity and where I could fit. Now, I’ve found my community, it’s nice to feel like you found where you belong.

Lupe Wong Won’t Dance Blog Tour

Title: Lupe Wong Won’t Dance 

Author: Donna Barba Higuera 

Publisher: Levine Querido 

Publication Date: September 8th, 2020 

Genres: Middle Grade, Contemporary 

Synopsis: Levine Querido has bought debut author Donna Barba Higuera’s middle grade novel Lupe Wong Won’t Dance. Publication is slated for 2020.

Lupe Wong is going to be the first female pitcher in the Major Leagues. She’s also championed causes her whole young life. Some worthy…like expanding the options for race on school tests beyond just a few bubbles. And some not so much…like complaining to the BBC about the length between Doctor Who seasons.

Lupe needs an A in all her classes in order to meet her favorite pitcher, Fu Li Hernandez, who’s Chinacan/Mexinese just like her. So when the horror that is square dancing rears its head in gym? Obviously she’s not gonna let that slide.

Not since Millicent Min, Girl Genius has a debut novel introduced a character so memorably, with such humor and emotional insight. Even square dancing fans will agree…

Book links: Goodreads Amazon Book Depository Barnes & Noble IndieBound Indigo BAM!

Author Information: Donna grew up in central California surrounded by agricultural and oil fields. As a child, rather than dealing with the regular dust devils, she preferred spending recess squirreled away in the janitor’s closet with a good book. Her favorite hobbies were calling dial-a-story over and over again, and sneaking into a restricted cemetery to weave her own spooky tales using the crumbling headstones as inspiration.

Donna’s Middle Grade and Picture Books are about kids who find themselves in odd or scary situations. From language to cultural differences in being biracial life can become…complicated. So like Donna,  characters tackle more than just the bizarre things that happen to them in their lives. 

Donna likes to write about all things funny, but also sad, and creepy, and magical. If you like those things, she hopes you will read her books! 

Donna lives in Washington State with her family, three dogs and two frogs. 

Author Links: 

Website: https://www.dbhiguera.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18946765.Donna_Barba_Higuera

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/donnabarbahiguera/

Twitter:https://twitter.com/dbhiguera

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/donnabarbahiguera

I don’t read Middle Grade often but the moment I saw the synopsis for this book, I knew I wanted to read it. This book spoke to me because Lupe is quick to stand up for herself and others, I wish I was like that. When I read this, “Well, I have faith that you and Andy are going to find a way,” I knew I had to finish this book.

Lupe is really smart and finds a way to speak her mind and give her point of view. When her P.E. teacher, Coach Solden announces that the curriculum would include square dancing, Lupe is horrified because it ruins her plan. “I’ve already filled Andy in on my uncle’s promise. If I get straight A’s, my Uncle Hector, who works for the Mariners, is taking me to meet Fu Li Hernandez, the first Asian/Latino pitcher in the major leagues. If Fu Li can be the first Chinacan guy to pitch in the majors, maybe I can be the first Mexicanese girl to throw a no-hitter.”

I love Lupe’s determination to achieve what she has in mind. I also enjoyed reading how her culture and background were implemented to the story. Thank you Colored Pages for letting me be a part of this tour and giving me the opportunity to read this book.

Dating Makes Perfect Blog Tour

Dating_Makes_Perfect_Google_Form_Banner

Hello! Today, I am bringing my first Hear Our Voices blog tour, I am so excited about it! I read Dating Makes Perfect in 3 days, the story was flowed so well, it was really cute too! I loved so much of it from the rom com references to the Thai culture.

datingMakesPerfect-1600

Dating Makes Perfect 

by Pintip Dunn

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Release Date: August 18, 2020

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Synopsis: The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because they’re not asked. Not because they’re not interested. Not even because no one can pronounce their long, Thai last name—hence the shortened, awkward moniker. But simply because they’re not allowed.

Until now.

In a move that other Asian American girls know all too well, six months after the older Tech twins got to college, their parents asked, “Why aren’t you engaged yet?” The sisters retaliated by vowing that they won’t marry for ten (maybe even twenty!) years, not until they’ve had lots of the dating practice that they didn’t get in high school.

In a shocking war on the status quo, her parents now insist that their youngest daughter, Orrawin (aka “Winnie”), must practice fake dating in high school. Under their watchful eyes, of course—and organized based on their favorite rom-coms. ’Cause that won’t end in disaster.

The first candidate? The son of their longtime friends, Mat Songsomboon—arrogant, infuriating, and way too good-looking. Winnie’s known him since they were toddlers throwing sticky rice balls at each other. And her parents love him.| Books

If only he weren’t her sworn enemy.

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Kobo| Google |iBooks | Book Depository| Books a Million |

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 8.45.19 PMAuthor Info: I’m a New York Times bestselling author of young adult fiction. I graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B., and received my J.D. at Yale Law School. 

My novel FORGET TOMORROW won the 2016 RWA RITA® for Best First Book, and SEIZE TODAY won the 2018 RITA for Best Young Adult Romance. In addition, my books have been translated into four languages, and they have been nominated for the following awards: the Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire; the Japanese Sakura Medal; the MASL Truman Award; the Tome Society It list; the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award; and a Kirkus Reviews Best Indie Book of the Year. My other novels include REMEMBER YESTERDAY, THE DARKEST LIE, GIRL ON THE VERGE, STAR-CROSSED, and MALICE.

Instagram |Twitter | Facebook | Website | Goodreads

Review: More than anything, I want to say I love this book so much. I didn’t read much about it online because I wanted to be surprised by anything that would happen. I loved so many things about this book, I hope to address them all. First, the writing style, it was easy to read it, it was flowing so good as each chapter went on. I love Winnie so much, I can relate to her when it involves her family dynamic but I do wish I had the witty responses she has to Mat.

I LOVE the tropes the book has including friends to lovers, enemies to lovers and fake dating, how amazing! Winnie starts to fake date Mat who is a family friend turned enemy. The way their relationship changes was really cute as Winnie’s mom based each one of their fake dates on a rom com such To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before to When Harry Met Sally.

“Mama was deliberately referencing To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. She never dated in this country, after all. She came to the United States in her thirties, with a medical license and a fiance. It figures that she would draw her dating knowledge from American rom-coms especially ones that didn’t even release in this century.”

Another aspect of the story I really loved is the addition of the culture. I don’t know about Thai culture, I was able to learn about the food, who doesn’t love to learn about that? “Food is not just a sliver of our culture but also a thread that connects the entire tapestry fo who we are.”

Dating Makes Perfect is one of those books that I could connect to Winnie, the culture and family dynamics. If you want to read a cute, joyful book that can help you forget about your current state then this is one of those I’d recommend. The rom com in the book made me laugh and it filled me with joy as I read every page.

 

“Mayhem” Blog Tour

Mayhem_blogtourbanner_on sale now

Hello everyone! It feels nice to be back writing another blog post especially a blog tour. Today, I want to highlight Mayhem by Estelle Laure. First, I would like to say how the book cover caught my attention since I saw it the first time. Also, I do want to point out how interesting this story is, how Estelle gives us the magic element while also having us experience Mayhem’s life and experiences.

Mayhem_FC

Synopsis: A YA feminist mash up inspired by The Lost Boys and The Craft.

It’s 1987 and unfortunately it’s not all Madonna and cherry lip balm. Mayhem Brayburn has always known there was something off about her and her mother, Roxy. Maybe it has to do with Roxy’s constant physical pain, or maybe with Mayhem’s own irresistible pull to water. Either way, she knows they aren’t like everyone else. But when May’s stepfather finally goes too far, Roxy and Mayhem flee to Santa Maria, California, the coastal beach town that holds the answers to all of Mayhem’s questions about who her mother is, her estranged family, and the mysteries of her own self. There she meets the kids who live with her aunt, and it opens the door to the magic that runs through the female lineage in her family, the very magic Mayhem is next in line to inherit and which will change her life for good. But when she gets wrapped up in the search for the man who has been kidnapping girls from the beach, her life takes another dangerous turn and she is forced to face the price of vigilante justice and to ask herself whether revenge is worth the cost.

From the acclaimed author of This Raging Light and But Then I Came Back, Estelle Laure offers a riveting and complex story with magical elements about a family of women contending with what appears to be an irreversible destiny, taking control and saying when enough is enough.

AP Estelle Laure_Credit Zoe Zimmerman

Author Bio:

Estelle Laure, the author of This Raging Light and But Then I Came Back believes in love, magic, and the power of facing hard truths. She has a BA in Theatre Arts and an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts in Writing for Children and Young Adults, and she lives in Taos, New Mexico, with her family. Her work is translated widely around the world.

Book Links: Amazon | Kindle|   | Google Play | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Author’s Note:

Dear Reader,

Like Mayhem, I experienced a period of time when my life was extremely unstable. I can still remember what it was like to be shaken so hard I thought my head would come off, to watch the room vibrate, to feel unsafe in my own home, to never know what was coming around the next corner. I wanted to run. I always wanted to run.

I ran to friends, but also movies and books, and although girls were more passively portrayed in movies like The Lost Boys back then, that feeling of teenagers prowling the night, taking out bad people, being unbeatable . . . that got me through it.

I guess that’s what I tried to do here. I wanted girls who feel powerless to be able to imagine themselves invincible. And yes, I used a rape as the seed for that fierce lineage, not without thought. For me, there is nothing worse, and I like to think great power can rise up as a result of a devastating trespass.

Please know I took none of this lightly. Writing this now, my heart is beating hard and my throat is dry. This is the first time I not only really looked at my own past, the pain of loss, the pain of the loss of trust that comes when someone puts hands on you without permission, the pain of people dying, the shock of suicide, and put all of it to paper in a way that made me feel victorious, strong, and warrior-like. It is also terrifying. I know I’m not the only one who had a scary childhood, and

I know I’m not the only one who clings to stories as salve to smooth over burnt skin. I am so sick of girls and women being hurt. This was my way of taking my own vengeance and trying to access forgiveness.

Thank you for reading and for those of you who can relate, I see you and you are not alone.

Estelle Laure

Review: 

**Trigger/Content warning: suicide, abuse, rape, murder, violence, kidnapping**

Mayhem is the main character of this tory, her along with her mother Roxy return to her mom’s previous home with the main purpose of escaping an abusive relationship. Through this experience, Mayhem learns does learn a lot from her family. I do like that Mayhem doesn’t have it all figured out because most of us don’t as well, I can relate to that. Mayhem is also being her mom’s support system so that doesn’t return to her abusive partner.

The magic within the story was an interesting element for me, it was very unique in the way it was used throughout the story. It made me realize that I haven’t read a story in which the magic disappears like this. The disappearance of the magic element made curious about it, I wanted to know more about it.

More than anything, I want to highlight that Mayhem’s story is dark, it includes theme topics such as rape, kidnapping, murder, abuse and suicide. Estelle handled the themes within story very well and makes them fit into the story too. I cannot wait to see what Estelle writes next!

See you real soon!