Blog Tour: Up All Night anthology

Book Title: Up All Night anthology

Authors: Brandy Colbert, Kathleen Glasgow, Maurene Goo, Tiffany D Jackson, Amanda Joy, Nina Lacour, Karen M. McManus, Anna Meriano, Marieke NiJkamp, Laura Silverman (editor), Kayla Whaley, Julian Winters and Francesca Zappia.

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult anthology

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Audible | Apple Books | B&N | Google Play | Book Depository | Indigo |

Book Description:

When everyone else goes to bed, the ones who stay up feel like they’re the only people in the world. As the hours tick by deeper into the night, the familiar drops away and the unfamiliar beckons. Adults are asleep, and a hush falls over the hum of daily life. Anything is possible.

It’s a time for romance and adventure. For prom night and ghost hunts. It’s a time for breaking up, for falling in love—for finding yourself.

Stay up all night with these thirteen short stories from bestselling and award-winning YA authors like Karen McManus, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nina LaCour, and Brandy Colbert, as they take readers deep into these rarely seen, magical hours.

Full contributor list: Brandy Colbert, Kathleen Glasgow, Maurene Goo, Tiffany D. Jackson, Amanda Joy, Nina LaCour, Karen M. McManus, Anna Meriano, Marieke Nijkamp, Laura Silverman, Kayla Whaley, Julian Winters, Francesca Zappia.

I enjoyed how every story was different from mystery to romance. I was hoping with the authors involved with the project, that the genres and representation would range and that’s exactly how it was. The stories had so many topics friendships to families to first loves. The anthology made me want to check out the books from these authors that I haven’t checked out before

Blog Tour: Rayna’s Sacrifice by Angela Lombardo

Rayna’s Sacrifice

By A. D. Lombardo

July 09 – 12

  • Purchase link: https://bookgoodies.com/a/1733337644
  • Genre:  YA, Fantasy
  • Print length: 312 pages
  • Age range: Young Adults+
  • Formats available for the Tour: pdf, mobi, epub and jpeg (sorry, no paperbacks)

About Rayna’s Sacrifice (The Katori Chronicles – Book 3)

Locked in a battle against the Katori Guardians, Kai, the headstrong Prince of Diu, must fight to claim his birthright, but gaining access to his magic will not be easy. In an epic struggle, he lays everything on the line to gain the power he needs to search for his mother, Mariana. With Rayna, the love of his life, by his side, he fights for the life he never knew he wanted.

When Kai meets his long-lost grandfather, Lucca, he realizes that Lucca has very different plans for Mariana’s fate. Their lack of trust soon puts them at odds, but when it comes time to test his will against that of his powerful grandfather, will Kai be able to control his newfound abilities? And how could he have foreseen his choices would put him on a collision course with his murderous father, Keegan?

Caught up in a magical life, Rayna must discover her own identity and the range of her new powers. Although her adopted parents gave her everything, she always wanted to know where she came from. While finding her sister gave her comfort, coming face to face with her mother may not be all she hoped. With Keegan hot on their heels, Rayna does the unthinkable and may suffer the consequences.

About the Author:

Angela Lombardo was born in Akron, Ohio, raised on a farm by her grandparents. Angela loves animals, the country life and is still a tomboy at heart. You can take her off the bobcat, but you’ll never get her to enjoy the city. She dabbled in playing the piano, sports and fishing.​

Her love of comics started with Spiderman, Wonder Woman, and Superman. Being a Trekkie and a BMX rider, Angela did not have many girlfriends or time for makeup. She spent most of her time with her older brother crashing dirt bikes and three-wheelers. As a teenager, her grandmother sent her to Barbizon to teach her how to be a proper girl. She is fortunate she had a son.

​Angela started writing The Half-Light in fall 2017 after a sleepless night gave her pause about the mother in a made-up story she created for her son. She spent the weekend solving the mystery of where the mother went.

Media links:

https://www.facebook.com/AngDLombardo

https://www.adlombardo.com/

Thank you to Blackberry Book Tours, it’s the first time I work with them and I can’t wait to work more often with them. Follow the rest of the tour here. This is the third book of the Katori Chronicles which is about Kai. He’s a crowned prince in Diu which caught my attention.

We start this book exactly where the previous one left, Kai along with his friends are facing a big challenge. I love how the book gives us a good mixture of adventure and fantasy, I wanted to know about the world building and the characters. I like that we also have secondary characters that seem interesting and also important as part of the story. I really enjoyed this MG/YA series, I hope you have a chance to check out this series.

Blog Tour: Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly Devos

Book Title: Eat Your Heart Out

Author: Kelly deVos

Publisher: Razorbill

Release Date: June 29, 2021

Genres: YA Fiction, Horror, Thriller, Zombies

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48589167-eat-your-heart-out

Book Purchase link:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Eat-Your-Heart-Kelly-deVos/dp/0593204824/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=Eat+Your+Heart+Out&qid=1625491657&sr=8-1

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/eat-your-heart-out-kelly-devos/1137831549?ean=9780593204825

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Eat-Your-Heart-Out-Kelly-Devos/9780593204825?ref=grid-view&qid=1625491689188&sr=1-1

Indiebound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780593204825

Book Description: 

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies.

In the next few hours, one of three things will happen.

1–We’ll be rescued (unlikely)

2–We’ll freeze to death (maybe)

3–We’ll be eaten by thin and athletic zombies (odds: excellent)

Vivian Ellenshaw is fat, but she knows she doesn’t need to lose weight, so she’s none too happy to find herself forced into a weight-loss camp’s van with her ex-best friend, Allie, a meathead jock who can barely drive, and the camp owner’s snobby son. And when they arrive at Camp Featherlite at the start of the worst blizzard in the history of Flagstaff, Arizona, it’s clear that something isn’t right.

Vee barely has a chance to meet the other members of her pod, all who seem as unhappy to be at Featherlite as she does, when a camper goes missing down by the lake. Then she spots something horrifying outside in the snow. Something…that isn’t human. Plus, the camp’s supposed “miracle cure” for obesity just seems fishy, and Vee and her fellow campers know they don’t need to be cured. Of anything.

Even worse, it’s not long before Camp Featherlite’s luxurious bungalows are totally overrun with zombies. What starts out as a mission to unravel the camp’s secrets turns into a desperate fight for survival–and not all of the Featherlite campers will make it out alive.

A satirical blend of horror, body positivity, and humor, Kelly deVos’s witty, biting novel proves that everyone deserves to feel validated, and taking down the evil enterprise determined to dehumanize you is a good place to start.

Author Bio:

Kelly deVos is from Gilbert, Arizona, where she lives with her high school sweetheart, amazing teen daughter, and superhero dog, Cocoa. She holds a BA in creative writing from Arizona State University. When not reading or writing, Kelly can typically be found with a mocha in hand, bingeing the latest TV shows and adding to her ever-growing sticker collection. She is the author of  FatGirl on a Plane, Day Zero, Day One and Eat Your Heart Out. Visit Kelly online at kellydevos.com.

Author Links:

I want to thank Turn the Pages Tours for the opportunity to read this book. First, be sure to follow along the rest of the tour here. I have been wanting to read this book since the cover was revealed. Being fat and curvy, it’s rare for me to find myself represented in books. When I found out Vivian was fat but also bad ass, I knew I had to pick this up. Another reason why I knew I wanted to read this book was because it also involves ZOMBIES! I have loved shows like The Walking Dead since they started and to mix it up with these characters, it’s the perfect recipe.

Eat Your Heart Out is funny/humorous, suspenseful, horror, humor and with a lot of action too. Vivian, our protagonist, is strong and confident. Her mom sends her to fat camp even though she doesn’t think there’s anything wrong with her. She lives in a household that pursues the idea that thinner is better.

Through the story, we meet the rest of the characters that fit into certain molds such as Action Girl, The Nerd, The Jerk, The Courageous Captain, The Outcast and the Basketcase. Having them fit these molds, reminded me a lot of the horror movies that I watch such as Scream. I really liked that each chapter was from a different character’s point of view, giving us the full story of the current event.

I like that the book highlights that you don’t have to be thin to be healthy and feel confident about yourself. The story gives us messages about fat phobia and how we all concentrate on other people’s weight and we don’t see how that impact that person’s confidence and self esteem through their life. I hope you find this a book that’s interesting for you to add to your TBR!

Blog Tour: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Book Info:

Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: July 6, 2021

Synopsis:

Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

Raikama has dark magic of her own, and she banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and, on her journey, uncovers a conspiracy to overtake the throne—a conspiracy more twisted and deceitful, more cunning and complex, than even Raikama’s betrayal. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain—no matter what it costs her.

Book Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53457092-six-crimson-cranes

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Six-Crimson-Cranes-Elizabeth-Lim/dp/0593300912/ref=sr_1_1?crid=13V190ZOQSOR1&dchild=1&keywords=six+crimson+cranes&qid=1621183984&sprefix=six+crimson%2Caps%2C177&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/six-crimson-cranes-elizabeth-lim/1137955028

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Six-Crimson-Cranes-Elizabeth-Lim/9781529356557

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/six-crimson-cranes/9780593300916-item.html

IndieBound: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/six-crimson-cranes-elizabeth-lim/1137955028

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About the Author:

Elizabeth Lim is the author of the critically-acclaimed and bestselling The Blood of Stars duology (Spin the Dawn and Unravel the Dusk), the New York Times bestseller So This is Love, and the USA Today bestseller Reflection. Forthcoming books include the Six Crimson Cranes duology, expected summer 2021 and summer 2022, respectively. 

Elizabeth grew up on a hearty staple of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Her passion for storytelling began around age 10, when she started writing fanfics for Sailor Moon, Sweet Valley, and Star Wars, and posted them online to discover, “Wow, people actually read my stuff. And that’s kinda cool!” But after one of her teachers told her she had “too much voice” in her essays, Elizabeth took a break from creative writing to focus on not flunking English. 

Over the years, Elizabeth became a film and video game composer, and even went so far as to get a doctorate in music composition. But she always missed writing, and she turned to penning stories when she needed a breather from grad school. One day, she decided to write and finish a novel—for kicks, at first, then things became serious—and she hasn’t looked back since.

Elizabeth graduated from Harvard College with an A.B. in music and a secondary in East Asian Studies, and she completed her graduate degrees (MM, DMA) at The Juilliard School. She grew up in Northern California and Tokyo, Japan, and now resides in New York with her husband and two daughters.

Author Links:

Tour Schedule:

https://tbrandbeyondtours.com/2021/05/27/tour-schedule-six-crimson-cranes-by-elizabeth-lim/ Be sure to follow the rest of the tour!

Six Crimson Cranes’s protagonist is Shiori, she’s a princess with forbidden magic. She has been cursed with her six brothers by their step mother which results in them becoming cranes and Shiori cannot speak. I have really loved Lim’s writing, now I want to read the rest of her books. Lim’s writing transports you to that world as you read, it was incredible to experience.

I also loved Shiori as the main character, she’s so determined. As we progress through the story, we get her point of view, I enjoyed learning about her, her thoughts and experiences. Another aspect I loved was her relationship with her siblings, I loved how team up and support each other. I don’t often see family relationship or siblings, I would love read about those more often.

If you’re a fan of fairy tales, action, magic and family/sibling relationships then this is the book for you!

Blog Tour: With or without You by Caroline Leavitt

Book Info: With or Without You by Caroline Leavitt

Synopsis: New York Times bestselling author Caroline Leavitt writes novels that expertly explore the struggles and conflicts that people face in their search for happiness. For the characters in With or Without You, it seems at first that such happiness can come only at someone else’s expense. Stella is a nurse who has long suppressed her own needs and desires to nurture the dreams of her partner, Simon, the bass player for a rock band that has started to lose its edge. But when Stella gets unexpectedly ill and falls into a coma just as Simon is preparing to fly with his band to Los Angeles for a gig that could revive his career, Simon must learn the meaning of sacrifice, while Stella’s best friend, Libby, a doctor who treats Stella, must also make a difficult choice as the coma wears on.

When Stella at last awakes from her two-month sleep, she emerges into a striking new reality where Simon and Libby have formed an intense bond, and where she discovers that she has acquired a startling artistic talent of her own: the ability to draw portraits of people in which she captures their innermost feelings and desires. Stella’s whole identity, but also her role in her relationships, has been scrambled, and she has the chance to form a new life, one she hadn’t even realized she wanted. 

A story of love, loyalty, loss, and resilience, With or Without You is a page-turner that asks the question, What do we owe the other people in our lives, and when does the cost become too great?

Book links: Amazon Kindle | Amazon | Audible | B&N | Apple Books | Google Play | Book Depository | Indigo |

Author info:

Caroline Leavitt is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Cruel Beautiful World, Is This Tomorrow, Pictures of You, Girls In Trouble, Coming Back To Me, Living Other Lives, Into Thin Air, Family, Jealousies, Lifelines, Meeting Rozzy Halfway.Various titles were optioned for film, translated into different languages, and condensed in magazines. 

Cruel Beautiful World was an Indie Next Pick and a Best Book ofi the Year from Blog Critics and The Pulpwood Queens.

Her ninth novel, Pictures of You, went into three printings months before publication and is now in its fourth printing.

A New York Times bestseller, it was also a Costco “Pennie’s Pick,” A San Francisco Chronicle Editor’s Choice “Lit Pick,” and was one of the top 20 books published so far in 2011, as named by BookPage. Pictures of You was also on the Best Books of 2011 lists from The San Francisco Chronicle, The Providence Journal, Bookmarks Magazine and Kirkus Reviews.

Her novel, Is This Tomorrow is a New York Times and USA Today bestseller, a San Francisco Chronicle Lit Pick/Editor’s Choice, a Jewish Book Council Bookclub Pick, a WNBA National Great Group Reads, a May Indie Next Pick, A Best Book of 2013 from January magazine, on the longlist for the Maine Readers’ Choice Award, and the winner of an Audiofile Earphones Award.

Her many essays, stories, book reviews and articles have appeared in Salon, Psychology Today, The New York Times Sunday Book Review, The New York Times Modern Love, Publisher’s Weekly, People, Real Simple, New York Magazine, The San Francisco Chronicle, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe and numerous anthologies. She won First Prize in Redbook Magazine’s Young Writers Contest for her short story, “Meeting Rozzy Halfway,” which grew into the novel. The recipient of a New York Foundation of the Arts Award for Fiction for Into Thin Air, she was also a National Magazine Award nominee for personal essay, and she was awarded an honorable mention, Goldenberg Prize for Fiction from the Bellevue Literary Review, for “Breathe,” a portion of Pictures of You. 

As a screenwriter, Caroline was a Nickelodeon Screenwriting Fellow Finalist, and is a recent first-round finalist in the Sundance Screenwriting Lab competition for her script of Is This Tomorrow.

Caroline has been a judge in both the Writers’ Voice Fiction Awards in New York City and the Midatlantic Arts Grants in Fiction. She teaches novel writing online at both Stanford University and UCLA Extension Writers Program, as well as working with writers privately.

Caroline has appeared on The Today Show, Diane Rehm, German and Canadian TV, and more, and she has been featured on The View From The Bay. She lives in Hoboken, New Jersey, New York City’s unofficial sixth borough, with her husband, the writer Jeff Tamarkin, and has an acting student son, Max.

Author Links:

First, I would love to thank Algonquin Books for reaching out to me with this book. Secondly, I love how the story is told from the point of view of each character, we don’t get that often in books. I enjoy getting the perspective from each person to give us a complete story. We learn from Stella, Simon and Libby, Stella falls into a comma that changes her. Through the story, we experience growth, finding yourself and our experiences with others too. The book grabs your attention from the beginning and it revolves mostly around the characters and Stella’s experience while being in a coma. It’s heartbreaking, raw and real.

Blog Tour: Again Again by E. Lockhart

Book Info:

Again Again by E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Publishing Date: June 2, 2020

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud comes a complex novel about acceptance, forgiveness, self-discovery, and possibility, as a teenage girl attempts to regain some sense of normalcy in her life after a family crisis and a broken heart.

If you could live your life again, what would you do differently?

After a near-fatal family catastrophe and an unexpected romantic upheaval, Adelaide Buchwald finds herself catapulted into a summer of wild possibility, during which she will fall in and out of love a thousand times–while finally confronting the secrets she keeps, her ideas about love, and the weird grandiosity of the human mind.

A raw, funny story that will surprise you over and over, Again Again gives us an indelible heroine grappling with the terrible and wonderful problem of loving other people.

Book Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48570522-again-again

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Again-Lockhart/dp/0385744803/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/again-again-e-lockhart/1134237356?ean=9780385744805

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Again-Again-E-Lockhart/9781471407291?ref=grid-view&qid=1618767379755&sr=1-2

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/again-again/9780385744805-item.html?ikwid=e+lockhart&ikwsec=Books&ikwidx=6#algoliaQueryId=200c2fb382d24a2433684fc728f1ef5b

IndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780385744805?aff=penguinrandom

About the Author:

E. Lockhart wrote the New York Times bestseller We Were Liars and the upcoming Genuine Fraud, a psychological thriller. Her other books include Fly on the Wall, Dramarama, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, and the Ruby Oliver Quartet, which includes The Boyfriend List, The Boy Book, The Treasure Map of Boys, and Real Live Boyfriends. She also wrote How to Be Bad with Sarah Mlynowski and Lauren Myracle. Visit her online at emilylockhart.com, and follow her on Twitter at @elockhart.

Author Links:

Trigger Warning: drugs, addiction, depression

Adelaide lives with her dad, she meet a boy named Jack. Through the story, we begin to realize that there is are multiple universes which show us how they interact with each other. The universes made me want to read more to see how this would work at the end.

We also see the relationship between Adelaide and Toby, her brother. Toby is an addict, we experience how their relationship isn’t the same and it falls apart due to that. Through the story, it gives us insight into how Adelaide fixes their relationship while also she learning about what happened to him. This story touched me as it shows how addiction affects not only the addicted but their loved ones too.

Blog Tour: Box in the Woods by Maureen Johnson

Book Title: The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious #4)

Author: Maureen Johnson

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: June 15, 2021

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/52716736

Book Purchase link:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Box-Woods-Truly-Devious/dp/0063032600

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-box-in-the-woods-maureen-johnson/1136705456

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Box-Woods-Maureen-Johnson/9780063032606?ref=grid-view&qid=1623417161799&sr=1-1

Indiebound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780063032606

GIVEAWAY:

Enter to win one (1) finished copy of The Box in the Woods by Maureen Johnson! Open USA only. There will be 1 winner.

Giveaway starts: Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Giveaway ends: Tuesday, June 22, 2021 at 12:00 a.m. CST

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d44/

Book Description: 

After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell investigates her first mystery outside of Ellingham Academy in this spine-chilling and hilarious stand-alone mystery from New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson.

Amateur sleuth Stevie Bell needs a good murder. After catching a killer at her high school, she’s back at home for a normal (that means boring) summer.

But then she gets a message from the owner of Sunny Pines, formerly known as Camp Wonder Falls—the site of the notorious unsolved case, the Box in the Woods Murders. Back in 1978, four camp counselors were killed in the woods outside of the town of Barlow Corners, their bodies left in a gruesome display. The new owner offers Stevie an invitation: Come to the camp and help him work on a true crime podcast about the case.

Stevie agrees, as long as she can bring along her friends from Ellingham Academy. Nothing sounds better than a summer spent together, investigating old murders.

But something evil still lurks in Barlow Corners. When Stevie opens the lid on this long-dormant case, she gets much more than she bargained for. The Box in the Woods will make room for more victims. This time, Stevie may not make it out alive.

Author Bio:

Maureen Johnson is the #1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of several YA novels, including 13 Little Blue Envelopes, Suite Scarlett, The Name of the Star, and Truly Devious. She has also done collaborative works, such as Let It Snow with John Green and Lauren Myracle (now on Netflix), and several works in the Shadowhunter universe with Cassandra Clare. Her work has appeared in publications such as The New York Times, Buzzfeed, and The Guardian, and she has also served as a scriptwriter for EA Games. She has an MFA in Writing from Columbia University and lives in New York City.

Author Links:

I have been wanting to read this series for quite some time now and I took this opportunity to read the trilogy and then reading Box in the Woods. I was so hooked, I loved the writing style and the overall story. I’ve been a fan of true crime and mystery so I had a feeling I’d enjoy the series. One of my favorite parts through the story is that I keep trying to guess what will happen next and I haven’t been able to predict it.

I can relate to Stevie, our main character, due to her anxiety especially the constant worrying. She’s very awkward like myself and at times doesn’t know how to react.

I also enjoyed the format as we get the past and present point of view. More than anything, I love all the twists and turns we experience as we progress. If you have read this series, which book has been your favorite? If you enjoy mystery books, I recommend you pick up this series.

Blog Tour: A Sisterhood of Secret Ambitions by Sheena Boekweg

TITLE: A Sisterhood of Secret Ambitions

AUTHOR: Sheena Boekweg

PUBLISHER: Feiwel & Friends

RELEASE DATE: June 1st, 2021

GENRE(S): YOUNG ADULT FICTION–Historical

BUY LINK: https://bookshop.org/a/11727/9781250770981

SYNOPSIS:

Behind every powerful man is a trained woman, and behind every trained woman is the Society. It started with tea parties and matchmaking, but is now a countrywide secret. Gossips pass messages in recipes, Spinsters train to fight, and women work together to grant safety to abused women and children. The Society is more than oaths—it is sisterhood and purpose.

In 1926, seventeen-year-old Elsie is dropped off in a new city with four other teenage girls. All of them have trained together since childhood to become the Wife of a powerful man. But when they learn that their next target is earmarked to become President, their mission becomes more than just an assignment; this is a chance at the most powerful position in the Society. All they have to do is make one man fall in love with them first.

AUTHOR INFORMATION

Sheena Boekweg grew up reading books with tree branches peeking over her shoulder. Her novels Glitch Kingdom and A Sisterhood of Secret Ambitions, both with Feiwel and Friends/Macmillan, feature fat positive girls with ambitions, love stories, and sometimes battle axes. She’s a contributor to Every Body Shines, a fat-positive anthology publishing May 2021 with Bloomsbury, and is an alumni of the 2015 Pitch Wars Program and was a Pitch Wars mentor in 2017, 2018, and currently in 2020. Sheena believes that beauty is intrinsic and worth is unquestionable, and thinks you can’t solve all problems with food, but it will always help.

She is well-loved by a tall man with a great beard, her three kids, and the world’s most spoiled puppy. Visit her online at boekwegbooks.com, or follow her on Twitter and Instagram @SheenaBoekweg. She’s represented by Jessica Sinsheimer at Context Literary.

I knew I wanted to read this book the moment I read the synopsis. We have a secret sisterhood consisting of women that use their marriage to influence society. This society makes it their job to recruit and train women then place them in a role based on their talent and expertise. Elise, our main character, competes with three members of the Society to win the heart of a future president.

I loved the writing, the story is one that had me hooked from the beginning. I especially enjoyed the theme of female empowerment and self acceptance that I don’t see often in books. I found it interesting how the world is set up in a world in which women have more influence.

I also wanted to highlight the diversity between the characters in the book. Elise and her friends are plus size and comfortable in themselves which spoke to me since I am plus size. It’s hard and rare to find a plus size or fat character that is comfortable on their skin and I want to find more characters to be that way. There are moments in which they discuss how they feel about their bodies and sexualities, they support each other and I truly loved that.

More importantly, through the story Elise experiences her self worth as at first she thinks that she isn’t enough compared to her brother due to her gender. She wants to be treated as an equal and she understands that she wants more than what the Society offers. If you have picked up a copy, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and click on the banner to follow along on the tour.

Blog Tour: Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria

Click on the banner to follow on the tour

Book Info:

Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: June 8, 2021

Synopsis:

Content Warnings: violence, torture, animal cruelty (a dragon), mentions of racism, descriptions of anxiety/panic attacks, character death, unwanted sexual advance on a minor–very brief and involves face/arm touching only (Chapter 17)

Dani and Eden Rivera were both born to kill dragons, but the sisters couldn’t be more different. For Dani, dragon slaying takes a back seat to normal high school life, while Eden prioritizes training above everything else. Yet they both agree on one thing: it’s kill or be killed where dragons are concerned.

Until Dani comes face-to-face with one and forges a rare and magical bond with him. As she gets to know Nox, she realizes that everything she thought she knew about dragons is wrong. With Dani lost to the dragons, Eden turns to the mysterious and alluring sorcerers to help save her sister. Now on opposite sides of the conflict, the sisters will do whatever it takes to save the other. But the two are playing with magic that is more dangerous than they know, and there is another, more powerful enemy waiting for them both in the shadows.

Book Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53968522-fire-with-fire

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Fire-Destiny-Soria/dp/0358329736/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=Fire+with+Fire+by+Destiny+Soria&qid=1618777545&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fire-with-fire-destiny-soria/1137169252

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Fire-with-Fire-Destiny-Soria/9780358329732?ref=grid-view&qid=1618775887636&sr=1-4

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/fire-with-fire/9780358329732-item.htmlIndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780358329732

About the Author:

Destiny Soria is an author who writes novels featuringmagic, mystery, and an excess of witty banter. She livesin Birmingham, AL, where she spends her time trying tocome up with bios that make her sound kind of cool. Shehas yet to succeed.

Author Links:

Giveaway (US Only):

One winner will receive a finished copy of Fire with Fire. The giveaway starts on June 7th and ends on June 14th.

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/fc15a59533/?

I have been looking forward to reading this book for a while now, the synopsis caught my attention. Sibling Rivalry? Dragons? I was sold! I liked the writing so much, I got so into the story.

Through the story, we meet Dani and Eden Rivera both kill dragons. However, for Dani it takes a backseat to her regular, normal life. On the other hand, for Eden, it is her priority. They do agree that with dragons it’s kill or be killed.

Dani meet a dragon, they form a bond. Nox makes her realize what she knew about dragons is not what it seems. While Dani is going through that, Eden turns to sorcerers to help save her. Now, they’re once again on opposite sides again but they still do what they can to save each other. They are both involved with magic that is really dangerous and they still have someone lurking in the shadows.

As the story happens, we experience the POV from both sisters that helps us see the whole story as well as their relationship. Having both of their views helps us explore when they’re on opposites sides of the conflict and their mindset through it all. It would be interesting to have another book giving us a background story on their world as I wanted to know more about it. I definitely enjoyed it and can’t wait to get a physical copy for myself to add to my collection.

Blog Tour: Misfit in Love by S.K. Ali

Blog Tour: Misfit iLove y S.K. Ali

TITLE: Misfit in Love (Saints and Misfits, #2)

AUTHOR: S.K. Ali

PUBLISHER: Salaam Reads

RELEASE DATE: May 25th, 2021

GENRE(S): YOUNG ADULT FICTION–Contemporary, Romance

BUY LINK: https://bookshop.org/a/11727/9781534442757

Synopsis: In this fun and fresh sequel to Saints and Misfits, Janna hopes her brother’s wedding will be the perfect start to her own summer of love, but attractive new arrivals have her more confused than ever.

Janna Yusuf is so excited for the weekend: her brother Muhammad’s getting married, and she’s reuniting with her mom, whom she’s missed the whole summer. And Nuah’s arriving for the weekend too. Sweet, constant Nuah. The last time she saw him, Janna wasn’t ready to reciprocate his feelings for her. But things are different now. She’s finished high school, ready for college…and ready for Nuah.

It’s time for Janna’s (carefully planned) summer of love to begin—starting right at the wedding. But it wouldn’t be a wedding if everything went according to plan. Muhammad’s party choices aren’t in line with his fiancée’s taste at all, Janna’s dad is acting strange, and her mom is spending more time with an old friend (and maybe love interest?) than Janna.

And Nuah’s treating her differently.

Just when things couldn’t get more complicated, two newcomers—the dreamy Haytham and brooding Layth—have Janna more confused than ever about what her misfit heart really wants.

Janna’s summer of love is turning out to be super crowded and painfully unpredictable.

AUTHOR INFORMATIONS. K. Ali is the author of Saints and Misfits, winner of the 2018 APALA Honor award, the 2017 Middle East Book Honor Award, and a 2018 William C. Morris Award finalist. Her second novel, LOVE FROM A TO Z, a story about finding love in the time of Islamophobia, was an Entertainment Weekly Top Ten Young Adult Book of 2019. She also has a picture book co-authored with Team USA Olympic Medalist, Ibtihaj Muhammad, THE PROUDEST BLUE, which debuted on the New York Times bestseller list. Releasing on May 5, 2020 is ONCE UPON AN EID, an anthology of joyful stories by 15 Muslim creatives, edited by S. K. Ali and Aisha Saeed. She lives in Toronto with her family, which includes a very vocal cat named Yeti.

Hi all! Click on the banner at the top to follow along with the rest of the tour! I want to thank Turn the Pages Tours for the opportunity to join this tour. I have been wanting to read not only Misfit in Love but also Saints & Misfits too. 

I began to enjoy the characters in Saints & Misfits and I knew I had to pick up Misfit in Love. I definitely loved how characters from Saints & Misfits return and how we see their stories be combined with the wedding set up. 

Janna has a lot of changes in her life from her parents’ relationship deteriorating, her brother’s marriage to Nuah acting weird around her. She is ready to be in a relationship and he’s the hesitant one. 

The story just like Saints & Misfits were quick reads that made me feel so many emotions from emotional to lovely moments. Misfit in Love also discusses strong and sensitive topics such as racism and divorce as well. 

I recommend this book to anyone that wants to read a heartfelt story, one that will hook you from beginning to end. Once I started Saints & Misfits, I knew I had to read Misfit in Love, I still want more from the characters. Not only were they relatable but also entertaining, made me feel connected to them. I hope you get yourself a copy!