Blog Tour: Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift

First, I would like to thank TBR and Beyond Tours for the opportunity to be a part of this tour! I am getting back into my reading and blogging groove after moving to a house now. I can’t wait to start posting consistently now that I am settled. I am glad Cast in Firelight is the first book I’m reviewing this year, it was such a great read!

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing date: Jan 19, 2021

Synopsis:

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

Tour Schedule

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | B&N | Indigo | Indiebound

About the Author

Dana Swift started making up fantasy worlds when she was eleven years old and hasn’t stopped since. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin, where she earned degrees in English and Advertising. While in college, Dana competed as a saber fencer and learned a thing or two about fighting, parrying and how it feels to fall in love with your sparring partner. She currently lives with said husband in Miami, Florida.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading the book but it entertained a lot! I was surprised by how easy I was intrigued by the story, the characters, the magic system, the overall action and my favorite part the enemies to lovers to trope!

I want to point out that the world is influence by Indian culture however the author does not involve the struggles of a POC. Overall, I enjoyed how the magic systems works as it is based on elements and given by the gods which was really interesting to me. There was a lot that I enjoyed about the book, there are so many aspects to the story such as politics, a lot of action and romance as well which made me feel like I was riding a rollercoaster, I loved it!

This book is definitely such a great read, fast paced, well written characters too. I also loved the writing style, it flowed so well throughout the story, I recommend that you pick this one up!

WarMaidens Blog Tour

Hi all! Today, I am bringing you a Q&A with author Kelly Coon!

Synopsis: Warmaidens is the dark, action-packed conclusion to the heartwrenching Gravemaidens fantasy duology. Kammani and the maidens are now going to war against the ruler who tried to entomb them.

Just a few moons after escaping the tomb in Alu, Kammani and the other runaway maidens have found refuge in the city-state of Manzazu. There, Kammani has become a respected healer, especially among the warriors she’s brought back from the brink of death. Now that the nightmares of Alu are fading, she can finally decide whether or not to take Dagan’s hand in marriage.

But when an assassin murders a healer he believes is Kammani and attempts to kill the displaced queen of Alu, the maidens realize they’ve been found. 

Hungry for revenge, Manzazu’s queen wants to strike back at Alu with her fiercest weapons—her scorpion warrior maidens—but Kammani knows that war harms more than it heals. To save the innocents and any chance of a future with Dagan, Kammani must take down Alu’s ruler before their lives burn up in the flames of war. 

Author Bio: I was born in Flint, Michigan, a city infamous for its water crisis and murder rates. And since my parents gave up their rock band to join a church when I was four, I heard gunfire on Saturdays and brimstone on Sundays. 

I learned all about following rules as I grew up. (And breaking them.) In ’97, I found myself staring at the angry eyebrows of a woman expelling me from an extremely strict Baptist college because I, as a young woman, had stepped foot off campus without a chaperone. She didn’t like the expression of my irritation that the freshman boys didn’t have to procure the same. 

With more than enough fodder for poetry and personal essays, I graduated with my BA in Creative Writing from the University of Michigan in 2000, the same year I married a man who’s clearly the better half of this whole. In 2004, I earned my master’s in Secondary English Education to teach high-schoolers the stories with which I’d been enamored since I was in pigtails. (Ahh, Romeo and Juliet!)

I’m the mom to three little boys and a rescue pup who will steal your sandwich. I’m also a young adult author represented by Kari Sutherland with Bradford Literary Agency. My debut YA fantasy, GRAVEMAIDENS, will be published with Delacorte/ Random House on October 29, 2019, and I’m so excited about that, I’m jumping out of my skin. The sequel is forthcoming in ’20.

Gravemaidens recounts the tale of two sisters: Kammani, a 16-year-old healer’s apprentice who wants to save the dying ruler of her city-state and Nanaea, Kammani’s little sister who will be buried alive as the ruler’s bride if he dies.

The problem? Nanaea wants the honor.

My sons say it’s spooky, but cool. 

Because I like tearing apart everyone else’s writing along with my own, I’m the editor for Blue Ocean Brain, and am a recent addition to the Washington Post Talent Network. I’ve authored two test prep guides, ACT Strategy Smart, and Ace the ACT, both which are not boring. 

I was the test prep expert for About.com for seven years, and have been published on sites like The Washington Post, Scholastic, MSN, Scary Mommy, Folks, Parent Map, and Sammiches and Psych Meds, too. 

Twitter | Instagram | Website

  1. How was your writing journey on this book compared to the first?
    Much different! When I wrote Gravemaidens, I could take all the time in the world I needed. I
    could write and rewrite and toss out ten thousand words and didn’t need anyone’s approval on
    anything.
    But with Warmaidens, I was lucky enough to have a contract. I’d been paid to write a book
    about which I had only conceived a couple of paragraphs. So the pressure was on. Not only did I
    have a deadline, I wanted to write something that would be better than Gravemaidens and amp
    up the pressure for Kammani and her friends in all the best possible ways.
  1. How was your writing process compared to before, especially during the pandemic?
    It was difficult, I’m not gonna lie. I spent much of March and April of this year wallowing in self-
    doubt, fear, anxiety, and a keen sense of self-preservation. My sons came first. Everything else
    was second, including writing. My brain had a difficult time processing it all because nothing but
    our health and the state of race relations in this country felt important.
    Gradually, with meditation and exercise, I got back on the horse and am so, so freaking proud of
    myself to have written another book this year!

3. Are you working on any other books?
Speaking of…haha! Yes, I wrote a YA thriller this year and have finished a YA contemporary with
speculative elements! I’m diving into a variety of different genres to explore how far I can push
myself. My goal is always to get better and stronger, and challenging myself to explore the real
world has been just the ticket.

4. Is there anything you would have changed from the book?
In Gravemaidens, I would have definitely shifted some plot elements around. I would have
amped up the tension and chemistry between Kammani and Dagan, too! But I think I redeemed
myself in a couple areas with Warmaidens. The pace is faster, the secrets darker, the weapons
sharper, and the romance a little bit steamier.

5. Is there any particular scene that didn’t make it to the final copy?
I wrote a scene in Warmaidens where Kammani and her crew come across a group of war-torn
refugees who are fleeing a conflict. I wanted to show how terrible war can be for every side and
show Kammani’s compassion and adeptness at helping them. Ultimately, though, it slowed the
pace too much and had to go!

6. What do you hope to write next?
I have another fantasy idea brewing in my head right now, and I’m itching to get at it. It’s a
modern twist on an old myth that involves two POVs from a boy and a girl, some gator
wrestling, magical fishhooks, and the swamp! =)

Thank you Kelly for taking from your day for this Q&A,! Warmaidens is the conclusion of the Gravemaidens duology which will be released on December 15. You can get your copy on here. Gravemaidens is available now for purchase!

Owlcrate Unboxing – October 2020

Hi all! Coming with a late post to show you the Owlcrate October box!

Woven in Moonlight inspired wind chimes
Star Touched Queen inspired bamboo phone stand designed by Lady Chubb Letters
Motherland Essentials was inspired by A Song of Wraiths and Ruins when creating this exclusive bath item
Spoiler card, We Free the Stars sneak peek and letter by Tracy Deonn
Bowl cozy designed by Janine Lecour, inspired by Spin the Dawn’s cover
Hey Atlas Creative was inspired by the coin used within Legenborn’s secret society when creating this pin
October’s book was Legenborn by Tracy Deonn

Did you get Owlcrate’s box? What did you think of the items?

“Creatures” Review

Creatures By Crissy Van Meter

Algonquin Books / Publication Date: October 27, 2020

Follow Algonquin Books on Twitter @algonquinbooks or 

on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AlgonquinBooks

On the eve of Evangeline’s wedding, a dead whale is trapped in the harbor of Winter Island, the groom may be lost at sea, and Evie’s mostly absent mother has shown up out of the blue. From there, in this mesmerizing, provocative debut, Evie remembers and reckons with her complicated upbringing in this lush, wild land off the coast of Southern California. 

Evie grew up with her well-meaning but negligent father, surviving on the money he made dealing the island’s world-famous strain of marijuana, Winter Wonderland. Although he raised her with a deep respect for the elements, the sea, and the creatures living within it, he also left her to parent herself. With wit, love, and bracing  ashes of anger, Creatures probes the complexities of love and abandonment, guilt and forgiveness, betrayal and grief—and the ways in which our ability to love can be threatened if we are not brave enough to conquer the past. 

Lyrical, darkly funny, and ultimately cathartic, Creatures exerts a pull as strong as the tides.

Author Bio: Crissy Van Meter is a writer in Los Angeles. Her writing has appeared in VICE, Catapult, Guernica, ESPN, The Hairpin, Golly, VIDA, and Bustle. She has an MFA from the New School. She teaches creative writing at The Writing Institute at Sarah Lawrence College. She is the founder of the literary project Five Quarterly, and the managing editor for Nouvella Books. She serves on the board of directors for the literary non-profit, Novelly.

Evie grows up on an island off the coast of California. Her mom left her when she was young, her father raised her. Evie struggled through her childhood, we are able to see what she went through and how it affected her too.

I really liked the writing style, giving us a change in timeline from present to past. Evie is the sole narrator, we get to learn a lot about her, the reading is deep and it definitely highlights her dysfunctional family. The story is dark, has heartbreak as well but the writing is very poetic, I really enjoyed that.

Love Offline Review

Love Offline: Looking For Romance In Real Life Emily’s Struggling To Find Romance Online. Will Ditching The Dating Apps Lead To True Love? Online dating isn’t working for introvert Emily.

Although she’s comfortable swiping right at home in her PJs, the idea of going out to meet a guy in person fills her with dread. So when her best friend challenges her to ditch the apps, attend a load of awkward singles’ events and find love in real life, Emily wants to run for the hills. Then she meets Josh. He’s handsome, kind and funny, but Emily’s had her heart crushed before and knows he’s hiding something… Is Josh too good to be true? Can Emily learn to trust again and if she does, will it lead to love or more heartache? Love Offline is a fun, sexy, entertaining story about friendship, stepping outside of your comfort zone and falling in love the old-fashioned way. Ideal for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

Purchase Links UK: https://amzn.to/2OKcwF3

US:https://amzn.to/35p81oZ

Love Offline is available to read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited. It is also available to read for FREE in Prime Reading until late November.

Love Offline is available to read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited. It is also available to read for FREE in Prime Reading until late November. Author Bio –Olivia Spring is a British, London-based writer of contemporary women’s fiction, sexy chick lit and romantic comedy. Her uplifting debut novel ‘The Middle-Aged Virgin’, which was released in July 2018, deals with being newly single in your thirties and beyond, dating, relationships, love, sex and living life to the full.Olivia published three novels in 2019: ‘Only When It’s Love’, ‘Losing My Inhibitions’ and ‘Love Offline’. ‘The Middle-Aged Virgin in Italy’, the hotly anticipated sequel to ‘The Middle-Aged Virgin’ and Olivia’s fifth novel, was published in July 2020. When she’s not writing, Olivia can be found making regular trips to Italy to indulge in pasta, pizza and gelato and of course, seeking inspiration for her next book!

Social Media Links –https://twitter.com/ospringauthor

https://www.facebook.com/ospringauthor/

https://www.instagram.com/ospringauthor/

Home

https://www.bookbub.com/authors/olivia-spring

Love Offline is about Emily, she’s self employed, working from home which causes her to spend her time hiding from her real life ever since her boyfriend cheated on her. Due to her situation, she spends her time in dating sites or mostly online. One thing she does is constantly checking her ex’s Instagram account, seeing that he moved on causes her to basically hit rock bottom. Emily’s best friend, Chloe is the opposite of her, she proposes to Emily that she should try to live offline for 2 months, living life while giving herself a chance to meet new people. Emily decides to try things that she had not done before such as single events and speed dating.

I found the story to be one we can relate to especially during these times when we spend a lot of time online. I also enjoyed Olivia’s writing, it’s easy to get in to, the story was one I could totally visualize and it makes me realize that it’s nice to have time offline too. I recommend this book to anyone that wants to read a relatable, realistic story.

Owlcrate Unboxing – September 2020

Hello! I wanted to show you all the items in the September Owlcrate box.

Black Flame Candle from Novelly Yours
Set of stainless steel skull coffee spoons inspired by the Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd- Jones
Lapels and Spells designed the Death before DNF enamel bookmark. Pumpkin Spice scented lip balm inspired by Sleepy Hollow, created by Fiction Bath Co. Enamel pin inspired by Horrid, designed by Pickety Witch
Flannel blanket featuring full text of Edgar Allan Poe’s The Raven, designed by Michelle Gray
Collectible postcard illustrated by Lovely Illustration
The exclusive cover and artwork on the dust jacket by Rena Illustration

I really loved the items this month especially the candle and bookmark. I adore the exclusive cover and the artwork in the dust jacket too. I’m excited to read the book! I hope you all enjoyed it too.

ForeShadow Blog Tour

Release Date: October 20, 2020

Thirteen Short Stories from Bold New YA Voices & Writing Advice from YA Icons

Created by New York Times bestselling authors Emily X. R. Pan and Nova Ren Suma, Foreshadow is so much more than a short story collection. A trove of unforgettable fiction makes up the beating heart of this book, and the accompanying essays offer an ode to young adult literature, as well as practical advice to writers.

Featured in print for the first time, the thirteen stories anthologized here were originally released via the buzzed-about online platform Foreshadow. Ranging from contemporary romance to mind-bending fantasy, the Foreshadow stories showcase underrepresented voices and highlight the beaut

y and power of YA fiction. Each piece is selected and introduced by a YA luminary, among them Gayle Forman, Laurie Halse Anderson, Jason Reynolds, and Sabaa Tahir.

What makes these memorable stories tick? What sparked them? How do authors build a world or refine a voice or weave in that deliciously creepy atmosphere to bring their writing to the next level? Addressing these questions and many more are essays and discussions on craft and process by Nova Ren Suma and Emily X. R. Pan.

This unique compilation reveals and celebrates the magic of reading and writing for young adults.

About The Authors:

Nova Ren Suma is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling The Walls Around Us, which was an Edgar Award finalist. She also wrote Imaginary Girls and 17 & Gone and is co-creator of FORESHADOW: A Serial YA Anthology. She has an MFA in fiction from Columbia University and teaches writing at Vermont College of Fine Arts and the University of Pennsylvania. Originally from the Hudson Valley, she spent most of her adult life in New York City and now lives in Philadelphia.

Emily X.R. Pan is the New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After, which won the APALA Honor Award and the Walter Honor Award, received six starred reviews, was an LA Times Book Prize finalist, and was longlisted for the Carnegie Medal. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. Visit Emily online at exrpan.com, and find her on Twitter and Instagram: @exrpan.

I really liked how each story is introduced by an established writer such as Emily X.R. Pan, Nova Red Suma, Heidi Heilig, Adam Silvera and Melissa Albert to name a few. I love how each story is intriguing in it’s own way, I also liked that after the story there is an author’s note in which the writer describes how they were inspired to write this story and their writing process. The author’s note is a very important part for me as a writer because I get to learn about their writing process as well. I take any opportunity I can to learn from writers and their strategies. It’s incredible to see so many writers have not been widely published and I hope this book helps them get published.

I am glad these authors were able to give the unknown writers the opportunity to find their voices and be featured in this book. This is the first time I read a book including short stories and now I do want to find more!

Golden Fury Blog Tour

Title: Golden Fury

Author: Samantha Cohoe

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/ Wednesday Books

Release Date: October 13, 2020

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Synopsis: Thea Hope longs to be an alchemist out of the shadow of her famous mother. The two of them are close to creating the legendary Philosopher’s Stone—whose properties include immortality and can turn any metal into gold—but just when the promise of the Stone’s riches is in their grasp, Thea’s mother destroys the Stone in a sudden fit of violent madness.

While combing through her mother’s notes, Thea learns that there’s a curse on the Stone that causes anyone who tries to make it to lose their sanity. With the threat of the French Revolution looming, Thea is sent to Oxford for her safety, to live with the father who doesn’t know she exists.

But in Oxford, there are alchemists after the Stone who don’t believe Thea’s warning about the curse—instead, they’ll stop at nothing to steal Thea’s knowledge of how to create the Stone. But Thea can only run for so long, and soon she will have to choose: create the Stone and sacrifice her sanity, or let the people she loves die.
A GOLDEN FURY and the curse of the Philosopher’s Stone will haunt you long after the final page.

Wednesday Books: Twitter | Instagram | Purchase Golden Fury

Author Bio: Samantha Cohoe writes historically-inspired young adult fantasy. She was raised in San Luis Obispo, California, where she enjoyed an idyllic childhood of beach trips, omnivorous reading, and writing stories brimming with adverbs. She currently lives in Denver with her family and divides her time among teaching Latin, mothering, writing, reading, and deleting adverbs. A Golden Fury is her debut novel.

Author Links: Twitter | Instagram |

Thea wants to step away from her mother’s shadow and to be an alchemist. They are collaborating on creating the Philosopher’s Stone which can turn metal into gold and give immortality. In a sudden turn of events, Thea’s mom destroys the stone when she has a fit of madness. Thea is able to do some research on the stone only to realize that the stone has a curse which causes anyone that tries to make it to lose their sanity. Due to the French Revolution, Thea is sent to Oxford to live with her father, who doesn’t know she exists. While in Oxford, there are alchemists that Thea tries to warn about the curse, instead they want to take Thea’s knowledge to create the stone. Thea has to decide between creating the stone and losing her sanity or letting the people she loves die.

Golden Fury was one of those books that was a page turner for me. When I began to read, I couldn’t stop, I love having books like this, between the story telling details to the story, I was hooked. I really enjoyed having Thea being an alchemist and her desire to make a name for herself. I also enjoyed how interesting it was regarding the Philosopher’s Stone too. Overall, I loved learning about Thea through the book, she is brave and fight for what she believes in.

Thank you to Wednesdays Books for the opportunity to read this book, all opinions are my own.

You Know I’m No Good Blog Tour

TITLE: You Know I’m No Good

AUTHOR: Jessie Ann Foley

PUBLISHER: Quill Tree Books (HarperCollins)

RELEASE DATE: October 13th, 2020

GENRE(S): YA FICTION–Contemporary

TRIGGER WARNINGS: Sexual Assault, Suicidal Ideation, Drug and Alcohol Use, Self-Harm

SYNOPSIS:

From Printz Honor winner and William C. Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes the story of one girl’s battle to define herself as something other than her reputation.

Mia is officially a Troubled Teen—she gets bad grades, drinks too much, and has probably gone too far with too many guys. But she doesn’t realize how out of control her parents think she is until they send her away to Red Oak Academy, a therapeutic boarding school in rural Minnesota.

While there, Mia starts confronting her painful past, and questions the purpose of Red Oak. After all, if the Red Oak girls were boys, they never would have been treated the way that they are. Amidst the revelations that cause her to question the way that society treats young women, circumstances outside of her control force Mia to discover what happens when she makes herself vulnerable enough to be truly seen by the rest of the world.

AUTHOR INFO

Jessie Ann Foley’s debut novel, The Carnival at Bray, was a Printz Honor Book, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book, a YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults title, and a William C. Morris Award finalist. Her second novel, Neighborhood Girls, was an ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice and a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults title. Sorry for Your Loss, her third novel, was an Illinois Reads selection. You Know I’m No Good is her fourth novel. Jessie lives with her husband and three daughters in Chicago, where she was born and raised. To learn more about Jessie, visit her online at www.jessieannfoley.com.

GIVEAWAY INFO: Up for grabs is ONE copy of Jessie Ann Foley’s You Know I’m No Good. This giveaway is open to US residents only, and will run from October 9th – October 16th at 11:59PM CST. Enter to win via the rafflecopter link below.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d6/?

Mia is known as a “troubled teen,” the last straw is when she punches her stepmother. She has also done many things such as cutting class to smoke weed. Due to her behavior, she’s being sent to “Red Oak Academy: A Therapeutic Girls’ Boarding School for Troubled Teens.” Mia describes how “there is no orientation, the way you might have at a normal high school. That’s because there is no regular start date to the school year. Every girl arrives at a different time, at whatever point in the year her troubledness becomes too troubling for those around her to deal with anymore.”

Through this story, the author doesn’t shy away from tough topics such as sexual assault, OCD, self harm, etc. I like how even through her “trouble” Mia is honest about her experiences and she feels very real to me, I miss reading characters like her. I liked that we also got to know the rest of the troubled teens there with Mia, to see how they all have sad stories to tell. I like how Mia’s honesty more than anything especially towards the end when she says, “But I know that I look good. I look healthy. I look like I’ve been through some shit. I look like somebody with a future before me that is emptied of everything but possibility. I close my eyes. I brush my fingers down the silhouette of myself. Before I get into the scalding hot shower to luxuriate in its pounding water pressure and Alanna’s rose- scented shampoo, I wrap my arms around myself, just to see what it would feel like to hold the body that is me.” My favorite thing about this book is how the book kept my attention, I was engaged especially with how real and authentic this story is.

Kingdom of Sea and Stone Blog Tour

Kingdom of Sea and Stone (Crown of Coral and Pearl #2) by Mara Rutherford

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publishing Date: October 6, 2020

Synopsis: Ever since Nor was forced to go to a nearby kingdom in her sister’s place, she’s wanted nothing more than to return to the place and people she loves. But when her wish comes true, she soon finds herself cast out from both worlds, with a war on the horizon.

As an old enemy resurfaces more powerful than ever, Nor will have to keep the kingdom from falling apart with the help of Prince Talin and Nor’s twin sister, Zadie. There are forces within the world more mysterious than any of them ever guessed—and they’ll need to stay alive long enough to conquer them…

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Indigo |

Author Bio:

About the Author:

Mara Rutherford began her writing career as a journalist but quickly discovered she far preferred fantasy to reality. Originally from California, Mara has since lived all over the world along with her Marine-turned-diplomat husband. A triplet born on Leap Day, Mara holds a Master’s degree in Cultural Studies from the University of London. When she’s not writing or chasing after her two sons, she can usually be found pushing the boundaries of her comfort zone, whether at a traditional Russian banya or an Incan archaeological site. She is the author of CROWN OF CORAL AND PEARL (2019), its sequel, KINGDOM OF SEA AND STONE (2020), and LUMINOUS (2021).

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads |

Blog Tour | Giveaway (US Only): Finished copy of Kingdom of Sea and Stone. This giveaway will end on October 13th.

Before starting this book, I recommend you read Crown of Coral and Pearl since the book starts where the first book left off.

I began with reading Crown of Coral and Pearl, I was so hooked with the story especially the world building. The detailing in the world building in both books is amazingly done. We begin the story by learning that the Princes of Ilara marries the most beautiful maidens from the village of Varenia. Nor has dreamed of being a part of the wealthy and the kingdom of Ilara however she had an accident that caused her to have a permanent scar which meant that her twin sister, Zadie would be chosen to marry the Prince – Nor however would remain in Varenia and marry anyone of the men in the village. Zadie is injured, Nor is sent to Ilara to take her place. Their family is poor therefore their mom has planned for the girls to be part of the ceremony, hoping one of them would get married to the prince therefore giving wealth to the family, in Varenia beauty means everything.

In Kingdom of Sea and Stone, Nor and Zadie reunite and they have to do what they can to save the kingdom. Just like in Crown of Coral and Pearl, there are so many twists and turns which keep pulling you in as a reader. Through the story, my favorite character has been Nor as we experience her growth through the story, she’s very determine to save her people. This particular quote stood out to me, “But that’s just it, Nor. Even when everything around you is falling apart, you manage to find those moments of joy.” I do believe this quote really tell us so much about Nor and her growth.

Another quote that I loved while reading was, “I can see that mind of yours racing. I’m sorry I said anything. Being with you right here, right now, is enough.” I found it interesting because it made me want to keep reading to see what would happen next, it intrigued me. I loved reading both of these books, I felt like I experienced a rollercoaster of emotions through my reading and I already want to read them both again, they were so good! I definitely rate Kingdom of Sea and Stone 5 stars because I loved the story from beginning to end, I hope you do too!

Click on the banner at the top to follow the rest of the tour, see you next time!